Saskatchewan and it's counties are available to be hosted. Please contact me if you are interested in hosting this site.

Saskatchewan, one of the three Prairie provinces of Canada, bounded on the North by the Northwest Territories, on the East by Manitoba, on the S. by the states of North Dakota and Montana, and on the West by Alberta.

Saskatchewan entered the Canadian Confederacy on September 1, 1905, along with Alberta, as the eighth and ninth provinces.  Saskatchewan is called Canada's Breadbasket because it is one of the largest wheat producing areas in the world.  Mining is also an important industry, because of the province's large reserves of petroleum, coal, uranium, and potash. Saskatchewan was named by the Cree Indian word which means, "flowing fast."


Saskatchewan Counties

Swift Current Moose Jaw Weyburn
Kindersley Regina Yorkton
Battleford St. Joseph's Colony Saskatoon
Kamsack Lloydminster Barr Colony
Prince Albert    



Saskatchewan Facts:

Capital: Regina
Floral Emblem: Prairie Lilly
Area: 251,700 sq. mi; includes 31, 518 sq. mi of inland water; 6th largest among the provinces and territories.
Highest Point: 4567 ft in the Cypress Hills
Lowest Point: 700 ft on the shore of Lake Athabasca
Principal Rivers: Saskatchewan, North Saskatchewan, South Saskatchewan, Assiniboine, Qu'Appelle
Principal Lakes: Athabasca, Reindeer, Wollaston, LaRonge


AHGP | AHGP Canada

 Add/Correct a Link

  Comments/Submit Data

Copyright 2005-2015 by Canadian Genealogy
The WebPages may be linked to but shall not be reproduced on another site without
written permission.