AHGP Canada


Newfoundland / Labrador

Newfoundland, one of the Atlantic provinces of Canada, consisting of the island of Newfoundland, and on the mainland, a coastal portion of the Labrador region. The island of Newfoundland is situated off the East coast of North America between the Gulf of Saint Lawrence and the Atlantic Ocean. The Labrador portion is separated from the island by the Strait of Belle Isle and is bounded on the East by the Atlantic Ocean and on the South and West by Quebec Province.

Newfoundland became part of Canada on March 31, 1949, as the tenth province. Until the early 20th Century, it's economy was based completely on fishing. Mining now is now the dominant industry. The name Newfoundland appears in British records as early as 1502 and was applied to all newly discovered
areas in the North Atlantic.


Newfoundland & Labrador 

Bonavista Bay Burin Peninsula Central
Conception B N Fortune Bay Hermitage Bay
Labrador Northern Pen Notre Dame B
Placentia Bay South Coast Southern Shore
St. Mary's Bay St. John's East St. John's
Trinity Bay West Coast White Bay




Copyright 2005-2015
All Rights Reserved